Super B Partner Speedway On To Top Ten

Dakar 2014: Stage 12: El Salvador - La Serena 699 km in total, 350 km special stage

Once more and for the penultimate time in the Dakar 2014 the Speedbrain Rally Team rode a solid stage, as Friday´s route from El Salvador to La Serena proved to be surprisingly tough. The dunes were tricky and the heat took its toll on the athletes. The Speedbrain trio took no chances on this final demanding test and acted carefully. The riders may have suffered a crash here and there in the deep sand, but nothing that gave them trouble whatsoever. The Speedbrain 450 Rally bike handled the tortures again flawlessly.

As "Chavo" Salvatierra, Paolo Ceci and Pedro Oliveira had crossed the finish line, the last real test was completed. The Bolivian, the Italian and the Portuguese have consolidated their respective positions in the overall standings. It´s still important to remain cautious during tomorrow´s stage to Valparaiso, even if it is a rather short affair.

Paolo Ceci: "I was in good form today and had fun putting the hammer down. But I controlled and paced myself. Chavo and I had decided to ride together, that´s exactly what we did. It was nice and important for both of us. We didn´t want to risk anything and stuck around each other".

Provisional result
Dakar 2014, Stage 12:
1. Cyril Despres (FRA, Yamaha) 03:58:18
2. Marc Coma (ESP, KTM) +00:02:17
3. Olivier Pain (FRA, Yamaha) +00:05:53
4. Helder Rodrigues (PRT, Honda) +00:07:21
5. Jordi Viladoms (ESP, KTM) +00:09:10
6. Daniel Gouet (CHL, Honda) +00:09:52
7. Jakub Przygonski (POL, KTM) +00:10:45
8. David Casteu (FRA, KTM) +00:11:03
9. Ivan Jakes (SVK, KTM) +00:12:04
10. Javier Pizzolito (ARG, Honda) +00:12:49
15. Juan Carlos Salvatierra (BOL, Speedbrain) +00:33:02
16. Paolo Ceci (ITA, Speedbrain) +00:33:58
34. Pedro Oliveira (PRT, Speedbrain) +00:59:29

Provisional overall standings:
1. Marc Coma (ESP, KTM) 52:40:16 hrs
2. Jordi Viladoms (ESP, KTM) +01:59:49
3. Olivier Pain (FRA, Yamaha) +02:10:16
4. Cyril Despres (FRA, Yamaha) +02:14:01
5. Helder Rodrigues (PRT, Honda) +02:20:39
6. Jakub Przygonski (POL, KTM) +02:27:23
7. Daniel Gouet (CHL, Honda) +03:17:10
8. Stefan Svitko (SVK, KTM) +03:52:55
9. David Casteu (FRA, KTM) +04:01:42
10. Ivan Jakes (SVK, KTM) +04:22:23
13. Juan Carlos Salvatierra (BOL, Speedbrain) +06:12:15
18. Paolo Ceci (ITA, Speedbrain) +08:25:58
24. Pedro Oliveira (PRT, Speedbrain) +10:35:36