Powered By Super B Russell Dominates John Penton GNCC

Millfield, OH – Factory FMF/KTM rider Kailub Russell dominated the John Penton GNCC race to claim his fifth win of the season. His teammate, Grant Baylor, put together an impressive charge to take the win in the XC2 Pro Lites class and second overall for the day.

On and off again rain kept the dust down but made the course slippery. It didn’t stop Russell from getting a great start off the line coming third place around the first corner behind his teammate Steward Baylor, who made his return to racing after four weeks off. Russell quickly moved around Baylor and then Paul Whibley to take the lead. Once in the lead, Russell never looked back. He went on to lead every lap of the race to take the win with a 2 minute and 34 second gap. Steward Baylor would finish 6th overall for the day.

“I always like this race,” stated Russell. “I felt good all day and made some solid line choices to put a gap on the rest of the field. I’m happy to stretch my points lead heading to the next round.”

Grant Baylor was eighth off the start of the XC2 class and quickly moved through the pack to take over the lead by the 2.5 mile marker. On mile marker 4, Baylor crashed and lost four positions. He had a speedy recovery and soon found himself back in the lead. He continued to turn solid lap times through the remainder of the day to pull a large lead over fellow XC2 competitors while also moving to second place overall.

Next Event: June 21, 2014 – Snowshoe, WV

Overall Results –
1. Kailub Russell – KTM
2. Grant Baylor – KTM
3. Josh Strang
4. Jordan Ashburn
5. Paul Whibley
6. Steward Baylor – KTM
7. Chris Bach
8. Thad Duvall
9. Andrew Delong
10. Nick Davis – KTM

Overall Results XC2 Class –
1. Grant Baylor – KTM
2. Nick Davis – KTM
3. Ricky Russell
4. Trevor Bollinger
5. Layne Michael
6. Samuel Evans – KTM
7. Michael McGinnis – KTM
8. Derrik Allen
9. Chris Douglas – KTM
10. Ryan Lojak

Overall Point Standings XC1 Pro –
1. Kailub Russell – 208
2. Charlie Mullins – 181
3. Josh Strang – 161

Overall Point Standings XC2 Pro Lites –
1. Grant Baylor – 202
2. Ricky Russell – 199
3. Trevor Bollinger – 160